top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Pinterest Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.

"The White Shirt According To Me."

Today’s Dream: Gianfranco Ferré exhibit at The Phoenix Art Museum

On October 30th my photographer, Anna Keith, and I went to the press tour of “The White Shirt According To Me: Gianfranco Ferré” fashion exhibit at the Phoenix Art Museum (now on display until March 6th, 2016).

Some of you may not know this but the Phoenix Art Museum has been home to art exhibitions for 50 years! To celebrate, they have the privilege of hosting the U.S debut of “The White Shirt According To Me: Gianfranco Ferré.” It is the largest display of his 30 year career, wow!

So who is Giangranco Ferré? He is known as the “architect of fashion” with a keen eye for knowing the balance of design as well as having a cultural inspiration. If you listen to any fashion designer, they will always tell you that they listen to what is happening in the world and how the politics, history, and pop culture play huge parts in their designs. Ferré is not exception. He magically created so many iconic silhouettes that were ground breaking in the fashion design industry. Ferré’s career was a dream that carries the cache of “made in Italy” because that was where he was from, he took his Italian techniques and made them iconic. He served as artistic director of Christian Dior from 1989-1997 and was part of a pivotal generation who inspired Versace and Armani. Not a bad resume, am I right?

So as Anna and I looked around the rooms at all of the sketches, white shirts, and runway looks, I kept loosing her because I couldn’t see it fast enough! Everything was hand made to perfection, my Project Runway heart was full! Eventually we slowed down as one of the ladies who helped bring this exhibit to life took us on a personal tour of each garment and sketch. She explained the inspiration, the work, and the story behind everything…literally. It was unbelievable! I hung onto her every word and completely forgot about my throbbing feet in high heels. I couldn’t get enough of it. How beautiful his mind was and how incredibly gifted his hands were! I couldn’t help but think about Psalm 139:14 “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” How could you deny that this man did not clearly have God-given talent, his works were perfect and his designs were pristine. I was absolutely inspired!

So if you aren’t convinced of how magical this experience is, I suggest that you go check it out for yourself immediately! You can find tickets and times HERE.

Read more about the event HERE.

Now, enjoy all of the beautiful images Anna took of our time there!

xoxo,

The Darling Dreamer


  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey
  • Pinterest Clean Grey
bottom of page